2010 State of Origin Game 2 NSW Team – Jarryd Hayne Cleared to Play

June 9th, 2010

Finally the NSW Blues had a stroke of luck as one of their star players, Jarryd Hayne, was given a State of Origin pardon by the NRL judiciary to play in State of Origin Game II on Wednesday June 16.

Hayne was facing a suspension charge after head butting Storm fullback Billy Slater in a passionate rematch of the 2009 Grand Final when the Eels beat Melbourne 24 – 10 last Friday night, but was cleared of the charge.

The not guilty verdict for Hayne will ensure a tense showdown in game two, when he again comes face to face with Slater who will wear the No. 1 jersey for the Maroons.

Having named an extended 21-man squad for the first time in Origin’s great 30 year history, NSW named their confirmed 17 starters last night.

The Blues have made some major changes to the squad that was defeated 28 – 24 by Queensland in the Origin series opener on May 26. Their fresh line-up has done little for their odds in the State of Origin betting markets however, the Maroons still the hot $1.20 favourites to take out the series while the Blues are out to a very juicy $4.50 with Ladbrokes.com.au.

Big alterations in the line-up include Hayne being named in his preferred position as fullback, stealing the Blues No. 1 jersey from skipper Kurt Gidley who has been dumped on the bench for game two.

The Dragons are sure to feel the pressure of having five of the top players fulfilling Origin duties for NSW, and their top try-scorer Brett Morris along with Matt Cooper remain on the right hand side for the Blues.

Another Dragons player named in the squad is new addition Beau Scott making his Origin debut as left centre, as the Eels Tamana Tahu moves into the five-eighth position previously occupied by his teammate Hayne.

Manly captain Jamie Lyon misses out on a spot due to injury, as does teammate Anthony Watmough. The injuries have opened the door for the Sharks Trent Barrett and Paul Gallen who have been called up to wear the No. 6 and No. 13 jerseys after missing out on a spot in the series opener.

Trent Barrett has been named as vice captain for the Blues to aid Gidley, who will have a tough time leading form the bench.

Brett Kimmorley has been dropped by selectors, the veteran halfback denied a call back after the decision to give the Rooster’s in-form Mitchell Pearce the No. 7 Blues jersey.

Dragon’s Michael Weyman remains in the No. 8 and will no doubt utilise the club connection he has with hooker Michael Ennis.

The Melbourne Storm’s Brett White moves off the bench from game one to replace Josh Perry as the Blue’s second prop, and Trent Waterhouse and Ben Creagh remain as the second rowers for NSW.

On the bench for Origin II are Kimmorley, the Eels instrumental co-captain Nathan Hindmarsh, Tom Learoyd-Lahrs and the Cowboys’ Luke O’Donnell.

Selectors decided not to retain boom young Bulldog Jamal Idris, despite him having scored for NSW in game one. And the Panther’s Luke Lewis has lost his spot after being charged with a dangerous throw in a devastating decision for the 26-year-old.

Other players originally named on the 21-man squad that have been left behind include Raiders fullback Josh Dugan and Jason King.

View the official QLD Maroons team for game two.

If you like the Blues line-up and fancy an upset at Suncorp Stadium Wednesday week, head to Ladbrokes.com.au and place your State of Origin bets today!

2010 State of Origin Game 2 – NSW Aussie Blues Team:

1. Jarryd Hayne (Parramatta Eels)

2. Brett Morris (St George Illawarra Dragons)

3. Matt Cooper (St George Illawarra Dragons)

4. Beau Scott (St George Illawarra Dragons)

5. Timana Tahu (Parramatta Eels)

6. Trent Barrett – VC – Cronulla Sharks

7. Mitchell Pearce (Sydney Roosters)

8. Michael Weyman (St George Illawarra Dragons)

9. Michael Ennis (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)

10. Brett White (Melbourne Storm)

11. Trent Waterhouse (Penrith Panthers)

12. Ben Creagh (St George Illawarra Dragons)

13. Paul Gallen (Cronulla Sharks)


14. Kurt Gidley – C – (Newcastle Knights)

15. Nathan Hindmarsh (Parramatta Eels)

16. Tom Learoyd-Lahrs (Canberra Raiders)

17. Luke O’Donnell (North Queensland Cowboys)