2010 State of Origin Game 3 QLD Team – Hannant Dropped for Civoniceva

June 29th, 2010

The mighty Queensland Maroons, who secured their record fifth straight Origin series victory at the start of the month, have made just one player change to their squad for Origin III on July 7 at ANZ Stadium.

Queensland totally thrashed New South Wales with a big 34 – 6 victory at Suncorp Stadium to secure the series in Origin II and are looking to make it a whitewash in the third and final showdown next week.

With little tweaking needed after their dominant display in the series this year, Queensland have opted to lose the Bulldogs’ Ben Hannant as Panthers’ warhorse Petero Civoniceva returns to the Maroons.

Civoniceva had his hand broken when it was trampled on in the series’ opener back in May, the veteran keen to come back and do his bit to make it a clean sweep for the champion Queenslanders for the first time since 1995.

The Raiders David Shillington is bumped to the bench as Petero comes in as prop, and will be sure to inject plenty of attitude and energy when he comes on during the match.

In a test for Titans Ashley Harrison in the No. 13 for Queensland, he will come face-to-face with teammate Greg Bird who was named as the Blues lock reuniting with fellow “Bash Brother” Paul Gallen.

And, despite early controversy over the re-selection of Israel Folau, there was little critics could do to stop the flying No. 5 from playing in Origin III. Wednesday week’s match will be Folau’s final NRL rep footy appearance as the youngster moves to rival code AFL at the end of the season.

Also, the Rabbitohs’ Ben Lowe has been named as the 18th man for the Maroons, taking over from the Broncos’ Jharal Yow Yeh. If needed, Lowe will join teammate Dave Taylor on the Queensland side, Taylor hoping for a quieter match after copping a head-butt and punch to the jaw courtesy of suspended Blues Luke O’Donnell in game two.

New South Wales, on the other hand, have again made a number of big changes to their squad including the downgrading of Kurt Gidley, with captaincy of the Blues going instead to Trent Barrett.

View the official NSW Blues team for game three.

Think Queensland can make it three from three? Then get behind them at Ladbrokes.com.au who have the best State of Origin Betting odds!

2010 State of Origin Game 3 – XXXX QLD Maroons Team:

1. Billy Slater (Melbourne Storm)

2. Darius Boyd (St George Illawarra Dragons)

3. Greg Inglis (Melbourne Storm)

4. Willie Tonga (North Queensland Cowboys)

5. Israel Folau (Brisbane Broncos)

6. Darren Lockyer – C – (Brisbane Broncos)

7. Johnathan Thurston (North Queensland Cowboys)

8. Matthew Scott (North Queensland Cowboys)

9. Cameron Smith (Melbourne Storm)

10. Petero Civoniceva (Penrith Panthers)

11. Nate Myles (Sydney Roosters)

12. Sam Thaiday (Brisbane Broncos)

13. Ashley Harrison (Gold Coast Titans)


14. Cooper Cronk (Melbourne Storm)

15. David Shillington (Canberra Raiders)

16. Neville Costigan (St George Illawarra Dragons)

17. David Taylor (South Sydney Rabbitohs)

18th Man:

18. Ben Lowe (South Sydney Rabbitohs)