State of Origin 2012 Teams – Game 1

May 15th, 2012

The countdown until the most anticipated Rugby League clash of the season is on with the 2012 State Of Origin to get underway on May 23 in Melbourne, the State of Origin Game 1 teams now out.

Ethiad Stadium will be host to the first of three showdowns followed by State Of Origin Game 2 at ANZ Stadium in Sydney on June 13 and then the big one, game three, in Brisbane at the old Lang Park on July 4.

This week the squads for both underdog New South Wales Blues, out to break a six season drought, and the mighty Queensland Maroons who will be looking to surpass their own record of six straight series wins were announced this week.

The Blues are unsurprisingly the $2.70 outsiders in the State Of Origin betting markets at

In an attempt to inject some fresh talent into the struggling outfit four players have been named on the 17-man Blues team with the flying Sharkie Todd Carney to play in five eighth, Cowboys’ James Tamou (FRF), bolter Jamie Buhrere (INT) who replaces the injured Kurt Gidley, and Manly’s Tony Williams also on the bench.

With Carney reuniting with old halves partner at the Roosters Mitchell Pearce (HB) will it be enough to bring this club into the competition?

The Queensland State of Origin team for game one, on paper, is far superior.

The whole Blues line-up has won 23 State of Origin matches compared to the Maroons’ 147.

Cameron Smith from NRL premiership favourites Melbourne Storm officially takes over as skipper for the retired great Darren Lockyer, he alone boasting 15 Origin triumphs.

The other most experienced players that are set to bring a level of professionalism to the Queenslanders game for which they have become known for include Petero Civoniceva who will retire at the end of the season, five eighth Johnathan Thurston, and second rower Nate Myles.

Throw into the mix pro fullback Billy Slater, the controversial centre Greg Inglis and big Cowboys front rower Matthew Scott and you don’t just have experience, you have bulk and brains as well.

Just two players will make their big Origin debut in Game 1 for Queensland, Broncos Matt Gillett and the Sea Eagles’ star rookie Daly Cherry-Evans who have both been named in an extended 19-man Queensland squad.

Queensland do have an injury concern with centre Justin Hodges who missed the Brisbane’s loss in NRL Round 10 to Manly, explaining the inclusion of 19th man Dane Nielsen.

Gillett joins Hodges, Civoniceva, Brisbane skipper Sam Thaiday, Ben Hannant, and Dane Nielsen as the Broncos players representing Queensland this season.

Broncos Corey Parker however was snubbed by Origin selectors after his shocking game on the boot which lost them the match against the Sea Eagles last week.

In other Queensland State of Origin news Brent Tate was rewarded with the vacant spot on the wing joining Darius Boyd.

In the latest State Of Origin odds at the Queensland Maroons pay $1.45, pretty good odds really.

See below for the full 2012 State Of Origin team lists.

For the hottest State Of Origin betting markets and to support your state this season, visit – home of the $300 Bonus Bet to new customers quoting the code BONUSBET!

2012 State Of Origin Game 1 – QLD Maroons Team

Player Position Debut Wins
Billy Slater FB 2004 11
Darius Boyd W1 2008 9
Greg Inglis CTR1 2006 10
Justin Hodges CTR2 2002 6
Brent Tate W2 2002 7
Johnathan Thurston 5/8 2005 14
Cooper Cronk HB 2010 5
Matthew Scott FRF 2006 5
Cameron Smith S HOK 2003 15
Petero Civoniceva FRF 2001 17
Nate Myles 2RF 2006 13
Sam Thaiday 2RF 2006 11
Ashley Harrison LCK 2005 9
Matt Gillett INT 0
David Taylor INT 2010 3
Ben Hannant INT 2008 7
David Shillington INT 2009 3
Daly Cherry-Evans INT 0
Dane Nielsen INT 2011 2

2012 State Of Origin Game 1 – NSW Blues Team

Player Position Debut Wins
Brett Stewart FB 2007 2
Jarryd Hayne W1 2007 4
Michael Jennings See Player Bio CTR1 2009 1
Josh Morris CTR2 2009 1
Akuila Uate W2 2011 1
Todd Carney 5/8 0
Mitchell Pearce HB 2008 1
Paul Gallen FRF 2006 3
Robbie Farah HOK 2009 0
James Tamou FRF 0
Glenn Stewart 2RF 2009 1
Luke Lewis 2RF 2004 3
Greg Bird LCK 2007 3
Trent Merrin INT 2011 1
Jamie Buhrer INT 0
Ben Creagh INT 2009 2
Tony Williams INT 0