NRL State of Origin 2013 Teams – Game 1 Queensland

May 28th, 2013

The 2013 State of Origin is fast approaching with Game 1 of the hard-hitting three match series due to light up our night next Wednesday, June 5, at Sydney’s ANZ Stadium and in anticipation of the clash the XXXX Queensland Maroons team has been named.

Sticking to their tried and true line-up which has seen them sail away with the past seven consecutive series, the cane toads have named just one debutant with South Sydney Rabbitohs’ Chris McQueen in the No. 17.

While all the superstars are there including their lethal fullback Billy Slater, imposing centre Greg Inglis, always-in-control halfback Cooper Cronk, and of course skipper and most capped current player with 27 games and counting Cameron Smith – there are a number of possible fitness concerns for the Queenslanders.

Possible No-Shows:

Darius Boyd (Newcastle) – Loyal winger having issues with his left foot and Melbourne’s Justin O’Neill is there as Plan B

Johnathan Thurston (Cowboys) – Wife due to give birth on Origin’s opening night but Sea Eagles Daly Cherry-Evans will come in as back-up

Ben Te’o (Rabbitohs) – Went off in Monday night’s loss to Sharks in first half with leg injury but could be okay by next week

Other notable players in the Mal Meninga-coached Queensland crew who are currently the $1.70 favourites in the State of Origin head-to-head betting markets include veteran Cowboys Brent Tate, fellow North Queenslander Matt Scott and warhorse Nate Myles in the second row.

There are also four players representing Queensland’s first NRL team the Brisbane Broncos who will be without Justin Hodges, Sam Thaiday, Corey Parker and Matt Gillett during the Origin season.

Check out the official Queensland State of Origin Team for Game 1 below, then head over to the country’s best online bookie to get behind your state with a bet on the series opener today!

2013 XXXX Queensland Maroons Team (Game 1)

1. Billy Slater (Melbourne Storm)

2. Darius Boyd (Newcastle Knights)

3. Greg Inglis (South Sydney Rabbitohs)

4. Justin Hodges (Brisbane Broncos)

5. Brent Tate (North Queensland Cowboys)

6. Johnathan Thurston   (North Queensland Cowboys)

7. Cooper Cronk (Melbourne Storm)

8. Matt Scott (North Queensland Cowboys)

9. Cameron Smith (c) (Melbourne Storm)

10. David Shillington (Canberra Raiders)

11. Nate Myles (Gold Coast Titans)

12. Sam Thaiday (Brisbane Broncos)

13. Ashley Harrison (Gold Coast Titans)

14. Corey Parker (Brisbane Broncos)

15. Matt Gillett (Brisbane Broncos)

16. Ben Te’o (South Sydney Rabbitohs)

17. Chris McQueen (South Sydney Rabbitohs)

18. Daly Cherry-Evans (Manly Sea Eagles)

19. Josh Papalii (Canberra Raiders)