NRL State of Origin 2013 Teams – Game 2 New South Wales

May 28th, 2013

New Blues coach Laurie Daley will be out to break an imposing seven straight series loss with his New South Wales crew in the Holden State Of Origin 2013 series kicking off Wednesday night June 5 at his home stadium, ANZ, and below we take a look at the official NSW Blues team for Game 1.

It has been a horror seven years for cockroach supporters and if the current State of Origin odds for this year’s series winner are anything to go by, the $2.15 underdog Blues won’t have it easy again even with two Sydney games.

There are some major players in doubt here including their gallant captain Paul Gallen (Cronulla).

Gallen didn’t play Monday night against Souths with a knee injury, and the Blues are sweating on the availability of their skipper with NSW vice-captain Robbie Farah (Tigers) in line to replace.

Kurt Gidley (Newcastle) meanwhile has been officially ruled out of the squad due to some serious ligament damage to his foot.

In another attempt to shake things up south of the border NSW selectors have named three Blues Origin debutants including James Maloney (Roosters) who will wear No. 6 after being chosen over the Sharks’ Todd Carney.

The other first time SOO players are then Blake Ferguson (Raiders) and Andrew Fifita (Cronulla) with the team looking to break the hoodoo of zero wins with a debutant in the pack.

Filling some of the Blues other key positions are then the likes of fullback Jarryd Hayne, the explosive Michael Jennings, the fast paced Morris brothers (Brett and Josh) and of course halfback Mitchell Pearce.

While the below NSW State of Origin team certainly boasts plenty of attacking skills and pace in that backline, whether they can match the still very strong looking Queensland forward pack is yet to be determined.

Whatever your state make sure you get behind them for the 2013 State of Origin online at where punters will find the hottest NRL and Origin betting markets all season.

2013 New South Wales Team (Game 1)

1. Jarryd Hayne (Eels)

2. Brett Morris (Dragons)

3. Michael Jennings (Roosters)

4. Josh Morris (Bulldogs)

5. Blake Ferguson (Raiders)

6. James Maloney (Roosters)

7. Mitchell Pearce (Roosters)

8. Paul Gallen (Sharks, capt)

9. Robbie Farah (Tigers)

10. James Tamou (Cowboys)

11. Ryan Hoffman (Storm)

12.Luke Lewis (Sharks)

13. Greg Bird (Titans)


14. Kurt Gidley (Knights)

15. Anthony Watmough (Manly)

16. Andrew Fifita (Sharks)

17. Trent Merrin (Dragons)