State Of Origin 2014 Game 1 New South Wales Team

May 20th, 2014

Next Wednesday night, May 28, the New South Wales Blues will travel up to Queensland for 2014 State Of Origin Game 1 at Suncorp Stadium and the team that will look to take down the eight straight series champs has now been named.

Blues coach Laurie Daley had some tough decisions to make after the announcement of his Game 1 team had to be delayed due to a number of injuries sustained in the latest NRL round.

Unlike the Queensland Game 1 Team where the only surprise selection was Roosters forward Aiden Guerra, the Cockroach outfit is full of shock inclusions.

While many believed Daley would stick with his solid halves comb from last year, he’s showed no loyalty and gone with the Canterbury Bulldogs pairing of Reynolds (6) and Hodkinson (7) who replace James Maloney and Mitchell Pearce.

They don’t have the experience or mateship of their rivals, but injuries and off-field issues (namely Pearce) aside it’s still a strong line-up for the Blues.

Strong enough to stop the Queensland charge? The bookies don’t think so with New South Wales the $2.90 outsiders to defeat the Maroons ($1.42) in the opening 2014 State Of Origin clash.

Perhaps one of the strongest inclusions for the Blues is fullback Jarryd Hayne who has been brilliant and beyond consistent this season at club level.

Fullback is the position he best likes to play these days so he will be most deadly there replacing last year’s fullback Josh Dugan who missed out on selection this year.

Out on the wings are Brett Morris and Roosters’ Daniel Tupou.

While Morris has plenty of experience and is one of the fastest in the comp, Tupou is making his Blues debut here where he’ll be looking to score one of his freaky tries.

Brett Morris’ twin brother Josh Morris is the number three centre and has the tough task of defending against Queensland powerhouse, Greg Inglis.

The other centre for NSW is Michael Jennings who has plenty of strength and pace when not injured, which he has been lately.

One of the most controversial selections meanwhile is Five-Eighth Josh Reynolds. No denying his toughness and passion but is he creative enough?

Joining Reynolds is fellow Doggie Trent Hodkinson who replaces the in-trouble Pearce who was dropped from the squad as further punishment for his nasty night out on the town that ended in drama.

Canterbury are Premiership favourites sitting top of the table having won eight form 10, and their past seven straight, so it is this form Daley is hoping the halves duo can bring to his rep team.

Tigers prop Aaron Woods is another in-form player at club level looking to step up here, brings with him good defense as does Hodkinson which the Blues are going to need, with James Tamou the other prop in the mix.

In the second row are then Beau Scott from the Knights who missed Monday night’s game against Manly due to an abdominal injury and who comes in for Greg Bird, and the athletic Ryan Hoffman who will plod along without really catching the eye.

Hooker is Robbie Farah also from Wests, nearly out of action due to an elbow injury sustained a few weeks ago.

He’s been called up though and retains the number nine sky blue jersey.

Skipper Paul Gallen then rounds out the Cockroach’s starting line-up bringing with him aggressive passion they’re probably missing a bit of here.

On the bench are then Mr. Average Trent Merrin, rough and tough Anthony Watmough, veteran Sharks forward Luke Lewis who only returned two weeks ago and T-Rex Tony Williams who returns to the Origin arena.

It’s an interesting line-up but whispers are that this could be Queensland’s first series whitewash since 2010.

Wherever your alliances lie make sure you get behind your team at the best prices online at who will be offering all the hottest State Of Origin betting markets this season.

New South Wales Blues Team Game 1

1. Jarryd Hayne, 2. Brett Morris, 3. Josh Morris, 4. Michael Jennings, 5. Daniel Tupou, 6. Josh Reynolds, 7. Trent Hodkinson, 8. Aaron Woods, 9. Robbie Farah, 10. James Tamou, 11. Ryan Hoffman, 12. Beau Scott, 13. Paul Gallen (c). Interchange: 14. Trent Merrin, 15. Anthony Watmough, 16. Luke Lewis, 17. Tony Williams. Coach: Laurie Daley.