2015 State Of Origin Game 1 Teams Announced

May 19th, 2015

Queensland and New South Wales have named theirs teams for Game 1 of the 2015 State of Origin Series, to be contested at Sydney’s ANZ Stadium next Wednesday, May 27th.

The Blues broke an eight year drought with a gritty series win in 2014 but have elected to name a new-look team for Game 1 of the 2015 series after losing the services of Jarryd Hayne to the NFL, skipper Paul Gallen to injury and key forward Greg Bird to suspension.

NSW VB Blues State of Origin Team – Game 1

  1. Josh Dugan
  2. Daniel Tupou
  3. Michael Jennings
  4. Josh Morris
  5. William Hopoate
  6. Mitchell Pearce
  7. Trent Hodkinson
  8. Aaron Woods
  9. Robbie Farah ©
  10. James Tamou
  11. Ryan Hoffman
  12. Beau Scott
  13. Joshua Jackson



  1. Trent Merrin
  2. David Klemmer
  3. Andrew Fifita
  4. Boyd Cordner


Having played in the centres in 2014, Josh Dugan has been named as Hayne’s replacement in his preferred fullback position, while the addition of Canterbury Bulldogs pair Josh Jackson and David Klemmer have been made to add size to the Blues’ pack in the absence of Gallen and Bird.

There has been plenty of speculation surrounding who would be picked in the halves for New South Wales in Game 1, but Coach Laurie Daley has elected to reward Sydney Roosters halfback Mitchell Pearce for an impressive run of form this season with reinstatement, and compliment his attacking-the-line style with the calm head of Trent Hodkinson in five-eight.

Daley has confirmed veteran hooker Robbie Farah will lead New South Wales in Game 1, and has picked a big, physical bench with the likes of Trent Merrin, Andrew Fifita and Boyd Cordner set to have a big impact from the pine.

As expected, the Queensland team largely picked itself for Game 1 of the 2015 State of Origin Series; boasting some of the league’s best players and proven performers on the game’s ultimate stage.

QLD XXXX Maroon State of Origin Team – Game 1

  1. Billy Slater
  2. Darius Boyd
  3. Greg Inglis
  4. Justin Hodges
  5. Will Chambers
  6. Johnathan Thurston
  7. Cooper Cronk
  8. Matt Scott
  9. Cameron Smith ©
  10. Nate Myles
  11. Aidan Guerra
  12. Sam Thaiday
  13. Corey Parker



  1. Daly Cherry-Evans
  2. Josh McGuire
  3. Matt Gillett
  4. Jacob Lillyman
  5. Dylan Napa


The spine of fullback Billy Slater, five-eight Johnathan Thurston, halfback Cooper Cronk and hooker Cameron Smith translates to the national team each campaign and is sure to cause the Blues plenty of headaches on Wednesday.

Bolstering his backline with the always-dangerous centre pairing of Justin Hodges and Greg Inglis, Coach Mal Meninga has again elected to field a hard-working front row, with Matt Scott and Origin specialist Nate Myles picked alongside Smith.

Brisbane Broncos pair Sam Thaiday and Corey Parker retain their positions in the back row, as does the Sydney Roosters’ Aiden Guerra.

Daly Cherry-Evans has proven he is more than up to the task of Origin football over the last two seasons, but the Manly Sea Eagles talented suffered an injury in his side’s 11-10 defeat to the Penrith Panthers on Monday and now appears in doubt for State of Origin Game 1.

18th man Dylan Napa looks set to be rewarded for his good form at club level as a result, and will complete a Maroons’ bench which also includes Jacob Lillyman, Matt Gillett and debutant Josh McGuire.

In-form North Queensland Cowboys player Matt Morgan has been placed on standby for a maiden Origin berth, should Meninga decide a backline utility is required.

The Maroons comfortably defeated the Blues in a dead rubber in last year’s final match and remain outright $1.80 favourites to win State of Origin Game 1 at Ladbrokes.com.au as a result.